Resident Research Awards

The Resident Research Awards recognize and celebrate the research accomplishments of NYC psychiatry residents and fellows. Submissions are now closed for the 2022 Research Awards. Click here to see a list of previous winners. 

Congratulations to the 2022 Winners!

First Place
Victor Pereira-Sanchez, M.D.
"Resting-State fMRI to Identify the Brain Correlates of Treatment Response to Medications in Children and Adolescents With Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder: Lessons From the CUNMET Study"

Second Place
Eric Whitney, M.D.
"Diagnoses and Treatment in Juvenile Detention Before and After Evaluation by Trauma-Informed Mental Health Service"

Third Place
Petros Petridis, M.D.
"BOLD asynchrony elucidates tumor burden in IDH-mutated gliomas"

Submission Requirements

All Resident-Fellow Members of the APA in the New York City area are eligible to submit, including those from other District Branches. Previously published data is acceptable, if the paper was published within the last 6 months. The RFM must be the primary author on the submitted manuscript, subject to verification by the Training Director.

Papers should be limited to original clinical or basic research. Please note: Literature reviews and case reports are NOT acceptable submissions. If work was done during the year before graduation in 2021, the submission is still eligible.

Papers should not exceed 15 double-spaced pages, excluding tables, figures, and references, and should be organized as follows: Abstract not to exceed 250 words; Introduction; Methods Section; Results Section; Discussion, highlighting principal findings, reviewing pertinent literature, discussing limitations, and commenting on the significance of the work.


First, Second, and Third Place winners will receive cash awards (1st Place-$1000; 2nd Place- $500; 3rd Place- $250) and plaques. Additional Honorable Mention plaques may be awarded. Winners will be announced at the Presentation Ceremony at the NYCPS Annual Presidential Reception on May 12, 2022.

Submissions should be emailed to [email protected]  with Resident Research Awards in the subject line. 


Previous Winners

2021 Resident Research Award Winners

First Place
Palak Patel, M.D.
"Prevalence, risk factors, and impact of anxiety in the early stages of autopsy-confirmed Alzheimer disease: a retrospective study"

Second Place
Julia Vileisis, M.D.

"Trier social stress test does not induce a cytokine reaction in adolescences"


Third Place
Katharine Brewster, M.D.

"Age-related hearing loss, late-life depression, and risk for dementia" 

  2020 Resident Research Award Winners 

First Place
Joseph Stujenske, M.D., Ph.D.
“Prelimbic cortex drives discrimination of non-aversion via amygdala somatostatin interneurons


Second Place
Youngjung Kim, M.D., Ph.D.

"The association between leptin and weight maintenance outcome in anorexia nervosa"


Third Place
Brian Sweis, M.D., Ph.D.

"Ketamine reverses hypersensitivity to sunk costs in a mouse model of depression"

2019 Resident Research Award Winners

First Place
Andrew H. Smith, M.D., Ph.D.
"Risk Locus Identification Ties Alcohol Withdrawal Symptoms to SORCS2"

Second Place
Amit Jagtiani, M.D.
"Comparison of Efficacy of Ketamine versus Thiopentone Assisted Modified Electroconvulsive Therapy (MECT) In Major Depression"

Third Place
Jonathan Power, M.D.
"Improving “neural” connectivity estimates in developmental fMRI studies"

2018 Resident Research Award Winners

First Place (tie)
Olubunmi Asana, M.D.
First Place (tie)
Sophia Kogan, M.D., Ph.D.


Third Place
Stephanie Rolin, M.D., M.P.H.